The permanent exhibition of the OLEKSA NOVAKIVSKY MEMORIAL ART MUSEUM is located in the former studio and residence of the preeminent Ukrainian painter. The building is a unique historical and cultural landmark of the city. In 1923–1935 Novakivsky’s studio and the first private Ukrainian art school in Halychyna that was opened here were among the most active centers of Ukrainian artistic life in Lviv and Western Ukraine.
The Oleksa Novakivsky Memorial Art Museum (11, Lystopadovoho Chynu Street)
Located in the building bought by Metropolitan Andrey Sheptytsky for the Museum’s needs (1907). It is an impressive red-brick edifice erected in the neo-romantic style at the end of the 19th century by Yulian Zakharevych, a distinguished Lviv architect. Once commonly known as a palace of the Polish painter Yan Styka, after being purchased by Metropolitan Andrey Sheptytsky, it became one of the first foundations of the great philanthropists of Ukrainian culture.
In 1913, a preeminent Ukrainian artist Oleksa Novakivsky arriving in Lviv from Krakow on the invitation of Metropolitan Andrey Sheptytsky took up residence in this building. His studio was located on the second floor, in the spacious room, with his and his family`s 5-room apartment alongside. In 1923–1935, due to the support of Metropolitan Andrey Sheptytsky Oleksa Novakivsky`s art studio was home for the first Ukrainian Art School in Western Ukraine. It became one of the most important centers of artistic life in Lviv. The enthusiasm of gifted young painters and the individuality of their teacher Maestro Oleksa Novakivsky, a creator of the canvases that became classic of Ukrainian painting, drew keen attention of the leading figures in Ukrainian cultural and political life.
In March 1972, in commemoration of the centenary of the painter’s birthday the Oleksa Novakivsky Memorial Art Museum was opened in the art studio.
Please remember that guided tours in foreign languages should be booked in advance.
Tel.: 032 261 05 52
* The ticket office works until 16:30